Happy Monday!

Hope you all had a great weekend.

My weekend was super active. Saturday, my roommates and I hiked Mt. Monadnock. It’s one of my favorite hikes, however, we didn’t get to go up my usual trail. Since we went in the afternoon, our usual parking lot was full, so we had to start at the other side of the mountain. The hike was longer, less steep, and had less viewing points. But we did get a great view at the top.

The Roomies- acting like we like each other

After the hike we did something I’ve been waiting to do all season…. Get Kimball Farm’s epic apple crisp!! Unfortunately, we didn’t get a picture of it. We meant to, but we forgot because we were too busy demolishing it like we zombies on some kind of bath salts or something.

Probably what we looked like… except we had ice cream all over our face instead of blood…

Yesterday, I got the priveledge of participating in the Making Strides for Breast Cancer Walk, and it was an amazing experience.

I went to support a client of mine- and when I got there, her husband came up to me, grabbed my face and thanked me for what I do for his wife. Moments like those are what my job the best job in the world. It will be a day I’ll never forget.

Any way enough about me… Here’s your warm up of the week!

1. Myofascial release under arches- SMR, ankle mobilization, posterior line mobilization, helps with prevention of foot cramps

Make sure to do this barefoot or with socks. You can use a golf ball, tennis ball, racket ball… anything really. Put as much pressure as you can handle and roll around the arches of your feet.

2. Toe to wall calf stretch- calf stretch, posterior line mobilization

Hold for 30-40 seconds on each side. You can also bend and straighten the knee for more of a soleous stretch.

3. Light Dumbbell/Kettlebell Deadlift

You can do this with your butt facing the wall so you can have some external feedback. Most important and getting your butt back and keeping your back neutral. Make sure to squeeze your glutes and stand up tall in part B.

4. Incline pushups- upperbody warmup, core activator, ‘push’ muscle activator, (good for bench press)

As with any pushup, make sure you don’t let your elbows flare to wide, and keep your hips from sagging. If your chest can’t touch the edge of whatever your pushing up on, you need to heighten your incline.

Have a great week folks!

-L

